Monday, March 30, 2015

BLOG TOUR DATES, The Memory House

 THE MEMORY HOUSE releases Tuesday, March 31. Please join me the celebration.
Click on a link to join the conversation. I'll be giving away some books along the way so join me on the journey! 



March 30 - Article at Publishing Crawl.
March 31st - Seekerville - article on editing and a chance to win a book!
April 1st - Novel Escapes - Interview
April 3rd - Book Reviews and More by Kathy -Recipe  and feature
April 3rd - THE READING FRENZY - Interview

April 4th - Wicked Little Pixie -Review and recipe
April  5th - Be Nice or Leave - review
April 6th - Night Owl Reviews  - Excerpt and recipe card
April 7th - Craftie Ladies of Romanc
April 13 - http://margaretdaley.com/margarets-blog/ - interview and more chances to win The Memory House


"Fans of historical fiction and contemporary romance will be riveted and deeply moved by this rich and compelling novel."
"A beautiful second chance story."
"The imagery this story inspires is stunning."

" Fans of Dorothea Benton Frank, Luanne Rice, and Anne Rivers Siddons will enjoy “The Memory House”


Tuesday, March 24, 2015

Miss Julia's Peach Tea

In honor of the release of THE MEMORY HOUSE, I'm sharing the recipe for the delicious peach tea my heroine, Julia, makes for guests in her bed and breakfast inn, The Peach Orchard Inn. 

My  daughter and I can't get enough of it. It's refreshing, fruity, and sweet.




Miss Julia's Peach Tea

Makes about 1 quart

2  one qt. size teabags
2 cups water
Boil bags in water.

Pour boiled tea into a quart jar or pitcher and add 1/2 cup sugar. Stir.
Puree 2  fresh peaches for about a half cup of puree. Strain.
Juice of one lemon
Ice for glasses

Mix all together. Fill quart container the rest of the way with water.  . 

Garnish if desired with mint, toothpick of berries, a strawberry slice, peach slice floating around it in. (That's what I have in mine but the peaches this time of year were white!)





The Memory House goes on sale March 31! Read an excerpt.

New York Times bestselling author Linda Goodnight welcomes you to Honey Ridge, Tennessee, and a house that's rich with secrets and brimming with sweet possibilities...

Saturday, January 24, 2015

Easy Peasy Pie!

Love pie? Don't love to bake? I'm feelin' ya. So try this on today, NATIONAL PIE DAY!

Ice Box Pie

Millionaire Pie 

1 can Eagle Brand milk
6 TBSP. lemon juice
1 8 oz. can crushed pineapple
1 cup chopped pecans
1 big carton of Cool Whip
Optionally, add 1/2 cup flaked coconut.

Mix together first four ingredients. Fold in Cool Whip.  Put into a graham cracker crust or baked, cooled pie crust. Chill.



Wednesday, December 31, 2014

New Year's Good Luck Meal--Southern Black-eyed Peas with a Twist!

Ever wondered where the southern tradition of eating black-eyed peas for good luck on New Year's Day began?  Well, here you go! 

According to lore, during the Civil War, the Yankees pillaged and plundered the south until there was little left for southerners to eat except for black-eyed peas and greens. The  south survived and thrived on these nutrient rich, common foods and today they are a staple we love to enjoy anytime.  Add some cornbread-another southern staple-and a fortunate New Year is almost guaranteed!

 Try this healthy black-eyed pea salsa/side dish we call "Cowboy Caviar". There are many variations. This is ours.

                                                            Cowboy Caviar
                                                         The Goodnight Way

1 can whole corn, drain half the juice
1 can black-eyed peas, drain half the juice
1 bell pepper, diced (The red or yellow ones make it pretty, but green will do.)
½ cup green onions, diced (any onion will do)
1 medium tomato, diced
1 tsp. minced garlic

Optional: If you like spicy, add a chopped jalepeno.

Mix all ingredients in a medium sized bowl.

Dressing
½ cup vinegar
½ cup sugar
1/3 cup oil

Mix the sugar and vinegar together until the sugar melts. Then add the oil and mix well. Pour over the vegetables, stir and chill for about an hour until the flavors get well acquainted. Can be made the night before. Serve as a cold side dish or as a dip with tortilla chips or Fritos.

WISHING YOU A HAPPY  AND PROSPEROUS 2015!

Saturday, December 20, 2014

Orange Slice Treats and an Old Fashioned Christmas

 So, I was at our little bitty, local IGA yesterday—love this store--and ran across the old fashioned candies I remember from childhood. Frankly, I never liked the taste but I LOVE the smell so I bought some. They smell like Christmas to me.
As I was talking to the checker, she told me this recipe. I’ve yet to try it, but it’s simple and yummy looking and adds a festive attitude to the plain old forerunner to gummy bears. Let me know if you try it.

                                                              Orange Slice Treats
Orange slice candies
Powdered sugar
Pecans, chopped or ground
Put candy in microwavable bowl and microwave until soft. Twenty seconds is plenty in my microwave. Immediately, place the candy between slices of plastic wrap, waxed paper or parchment paper and roll out until flat. Dip in powdered sugar and then in pecans.
Let cool and enjoy!

YUM UPDATE:  A marvelous Facebook friend gave me an even better idea! Cut the orange slices in half lengthwise and dip in melted dark chocolate.  Oh, yeah!




________


The Memory House  is coming March 31, 2015 - available for preorder now, y'all!!

Welcome to Peach Orchard Inn, a house that's rich in secrets, history and sweet possibilities....

"The Memory House is a  beautiful, rich, memorable story filled with tenderness and heart." NY Times Bestselling Author, RaeAnne Thayne

Preorder from any retailer including these:
Amazon   Barnes and Noble  Indie Bound  eharlequin

Thursday, December 11, 2014

Christmas Traditions

We have a Christmas tradition at our  house that I dearly love. It started a few years ago, sort of spontaneously. We'd always baked a cake and sung happy birthday to Jesus but one year my older daughter, Sundy, came up with a twist on the idea. We generally have around 20 or 30 people at our house for Christmas dinner and frankly, by the time we eat, no one wants a big piece of cake. So my girls bake mini-cupcakes, spelling out "Happy Birthday, Jesus" with a letter on each tiny cake.  While everyone is still gathered in the living room, we put a candle in each cupcake and pass one out to each person. Then we light the candles, turn off the lights and sing to Jesus.

What traditions -old or new- do you keep in your family?

Tuesday, October 28, 2014

COWBOY UNDER THE MISTLETOE - New Book News

 

Yippee! It's finally here. The first book in my new series from Love Inspired has hit the shelves to get you  warmed up for the Christmas season!

Here's a bit about it:

Second-Chance Christmas
It's been nine years since Jake Hamilton broke Allison Buchanon's heart and left town. But she's never been able to forget the high school boy she secretly loved. Now Jake's come home to care for his ailing grandmother, and Allison's family will do anything to prevent a rekindled romance. Unfortunately, the connection between Allison and the green-eyed cowboy is undeniable. She believes that forgiveness is possible, especially at Christmas. But Jake cares too deeply about Allison to take her away from the close-knit Buchanon clan. Will Allison have to choose between a loving family and the love of her life?

The Buchanons: Steeped in loyalty, bound by family.

Let me know if you like it or better yet, post a review on Amazon or Goodreads. Thank you so much!

Remember if you have a Good Report to share, send it to me and if I use it on my blog, I'll send you a brand new copy of Cowboy Under the Mistletoe!

linda   @   lindagoodnight  dot com